Horror Movie Buff Part 4: THE END IS NEAR!

Yes, readers, my favorite month is coming to a close. It’s been scary, eye-opening, and occasionally a big waste of time, but I hope you’ve enjoyed following me on my journey and I’d love to hear what you’ve seen this month!

Here is how I’ve wrapped things up:

This is what Carrie is supposed to look like.

This is what Carrie is supposed to look like.

Monday October 21st- Carrie (The Original). I followed my viewing of the remake with the original. This order was best for my viewing companion who had now yet seen the original, because I was curious whether the remake was a decent movie outside of comparison. Turns out, not really. Once we watched the original, De Palma’s stylistic brilliance easily beat out Peirce’s wimpy, pointless version.

The Crew (for now)

The Crew (for now)

October 22nd- Walking Dead Episode 2. Man did they meet the challenge I proposed in my previous post. My worries about intrigue and drama within such a civilized society are no longer. Darabont and company are masters of suspense, and I look forward to a season full of cliffhangers, gore, and some major mysteries to be answered.

Only a small portion of the total craziness

Only a small portion of the total craziness

October 23rd- Jacob’s Ladder. This is a haunting psychological tale of post-war PTSD and paranoia, perfect for a casual viewing experience… if you casually like to feel terrible. I sincerely recommend this film and always show my poor film students the party scene because I like scaring the crap out of young people. So sue me.

A new formula for the "Damsel in Distress"

A new formula for the “Damsel in Distress”

October 24th- High Tension. A few dear film friends came over for a mini horror movie night this evening. We decided to pick the scariest thing we could come up with that few had seen, and I must say it was a delight to watch this film with an intellectual crew. One of my absolute favorite movies of all time, High Tension has most unexpected and perfect twist, particularly fascinating for a feminist critic like me.

They're Heeeeeere!

They’re Heeeeeere!

October 25th- Poltergeist. A classic among classics, this is a perfect film to watch on a TV in the dark because it really amps up the connection between media and fear. For some reason, nothing scares me quite as much as seeing a TV on with no one watching it. Definitely don’t want to fall asleep to this one.

October 26th- MARATHON. Today was my friend’s horror movie marathon party. Fittingly, we watched a steady stream of movies in a row from noon to night. Because life is about to get a little swamped with midterms and the like, I’ve considered this party my last “hurrah” for the month. A brief word on each film:

Pure Epicness

Pure Epicness

Zombie Flesh Eaters- An infamous classic among fans of zombie horror and Italian horror alike, this one dragged on somewhat but included epically memorable moments (shark versus zombie!!) that made it totally worth it. (Editor’s note: Anything that involves zombies fighting sharks is Oscar gold.)

The Mummy (original)- I was so glad to have finally caught this. Up there with the classics like Frankenstein and Dracula, The Mummy is entirely engrossing, sufficiently creepy, and has amazing make up effects modeled by the enchantingly hypnotic Boris Karloff. For my money, he may be the best of the classic horror actors.

Re-Animator- This 80’s-tastic horror romp has its own campy cult following, and for good reason. It’s a charming “mad scientist” satire with a neon “magic potion,” surprisingly clever make up effects, and  infamously creepy use of a zombie head (pun totally intended).

Best Halloween Ever

Best Halloween Ever

Abbott and Costello meet Frankenstein- Another classic that has evaded me until this weekend, this horror-comedy is the last time the Universal horror’s classic cast members come together. A hilarious and joyous love letter to end an era (and to end a month of great movies)!

Well, readers, that does it for my month! I hope you all enjoyed the thrills and chills alongside me and discovered something new along the way. Happy Halloween!!

Leave a Reply

