Be a Nerd and Like What You Like

I am a Nerd. Yes, with a capital ‘N’. I just love stuff. I like to theorize, talk about, speculate…I just love it. When I was younger and only half of the Harry Potter books were published, I used to have sleepovers with my best friend where we would stay up all night and try and predict what would happen next. I’ll call my brother just so we can freak out and speculate about the new episode of that tv show we both love. I pretty much use tumblr to connect with people who love what I love. I’m a Nerd, and it’s the best.

So why do people try and insult people with the term “nerd”? Apparently it’s not “normal” to be excited about the things you enjoy. Well to that I say “pssh!”.  People who don’t want to be seen as “nerdy” have to hold in their passion about things. Where is the fun in that?

Oh Sherlock, how did you survive?

I have absolutely no desire to hold in how I feel. About anything. Yes, I would like to talk to you for hours about how Sherlock survived his fall. Yes, I want to debate the role of Severus Snape in the Harry Potter series. What’s that? You want to discuss the similarities between Rose and Clara on Doctor Who? That sounds like a great time to me! Loving things is what makes and nerd a nerd. Really, John Green said it best:

Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-can’t-control-yourself, love it. Hank, when people call people nerds mostly what they’re saying is ‘You like stuff’ which is just not a good insult at all, like, ‘You are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness.’

Yet sometimes my nerdiness surprises people. I like to go shopping and wear makeup and I know the lyrics to an embarrassing number of One Direction songs, so when I go on and on about fictional characters as if they’re my friends it can take people by surprise. But I make no apologies for liking what I like, be it Star Wars or Urban Decay eyeliner. I’m going to enjoy the things that make me happy, and I plan to do it wholeheartedly. If something makes me jump-up-and-down excited, I’m going to jump up and down about it. I’m not afraid to be labeled as a nerd because being a nerd allows me to be filled with excitement over all sorts of things, and that just makes life more enjoyable. So let’s decide to stop using the term “nerd” as an insult, okay? We’re all nerds, really. We just get nerdy over different things. So like what you like and be unapologetically zealous about it because being exhilarated by things is one of life’s simpler pleasures, and a label shouldn’t make you deny it to yourself. So come on nerds, let’s get excited.

Leave a Reply

