Baker to Brooklyn

The last couple months have been absurd.  So many things have happened aside from even building this wonderful blog. Perhaps the most prominent is that I graduated from Boston University and moved to New York City.  Crazy, I know.  Let’s talk about that.

Manhattan Avenue is pretty cool.

Manhattan Avenue is pretty cool.

I now live in Greenpoint, Brooklyn. It’s the neighborhood north of Williamsburg. Essentially it is Polish locals and Williamsburg spill over.  It’s a cool area with relatively cheap rent and lots of Polish food. It’s always nice to be able to walk down the street in a gentrifying area and say to the locals, “My people!”  But I digress, for as fun as living in New York has been, there are some serious concerns.  Namely unemployment.

A la Gawker’s Unemployment Stories, I have found that getting hired for anything is a pain in the ass in New York.  Now I don’t really blame employers because, let’s be real, there is a complete over-saturation of the job market here.  For a city of over 8 million residents, plus people who live outside and commute in, it’s pretty damn hard for a twenty-one year old just-out-of-college to get a job.  Especially when you’re competing with thousands of other just-out-of-college-kids all vying for very few jobs we have all been conditioned to believe we “deserve” (We don’t). Internships are even worse just because they’re usually unpaid and only good for connecting with others in your desired field.  Internships essentially make entry-level employees moot.  Why hire someone when you can not pay someone else to do exactly the same thing for “college credit.” (Note to potential internship employers: I totally love working for free, hire me!)

Every adult I met in college always said, “It’s not what you know, but who.”  Now while that’s true, I feel it’s not quite complete.  My version of it is, “It’s not what you know, but who.  It’s not who you know, but who you impress of those you know.”  That or, “It’s not what you know, but who owes your rich daddy a favor.” There’s also a definite luck factor.

As much fun as being unemployed, watching ALL of Netflix, and waking up at 11 AM  freelancing is, I’d prefer a job.

This has almost happened with my laptop more than once.

This has almost happened with my laptop more than once.

Though I suppose I am getting ahead of myself, after all I’ve only been here a couple of months (almost).  I knew getting a job in journalism/blogging/social media/writing would be difficult but I never figured getting a part-time job would be so frustrating. Seriously, I’ve handed out or submitted dozens of resumes.  I would be more patient if I had more money but alas, such is not the case.  I feel like I’m in an episode of Girls, only I actually live in Greenpoint (on their street in fact), there is no Allison Williams, and I don’t have an awesome job at Grumpy’s.

From what I’ve gleaned through meeting various folks in “the biz” and reading lots of similar stories, my advice to my competition fellow job seekers is this: go away and  die just keep your head up and keep trying.  If you’re an aspiring journalist, freelance as much as you can and don’t be afraid to email the people you want to work for or with.  Connections don’t always pay off immediately, but it never hurts to make more friends.

So I suppose this is the end of my writing hiatus. Time for some fun.

-ECB

2 responses to “Baker to Brooklyn

  1. Beautifully written my brotha. Keep networking as much as you can. Try hitting up the BU Alumni list. Ill soon do that. You never know what can come of it.

  2. Pingback: For More than Profit | Audacity Oven·

Leave a Reply

